Written on 1st Mar 2014.

March 1, 2014 Paley Center For Media, Beverly Hills, CA—ShortsTV™, The Short Movie Channel in high-definition announced this evening the winners of the 4th annual Shorts Awards, a celebration of outstanding achievement in short films and the most prestigious shorts from around the world. The evening, which has become a must-attend event during Oscar® week, honored the Oscar® Nominated Short Filmmakers during a special star-studded ceremony held at the Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills. The Shorts Awards 2014 was hosted by Julie Moran and her husband, actor Rob Moran.

During the celebration, ShortsTV presented the Nominees Awards to the Oscar® Nominated 2014 Shorts in the Live Action, Animation and Documentary categories. At the Shorts Awards 2014, ShortsTV™ honored 6 global industry influencers with the Shorts Visionary Awards, recognizing established filmmakers, actors and organizations who have embraced the medium’s reputation for bucking trends, contributing their considerable talents to innovative short movies that embody the genre’s best qualities.

The 2014 Shorts Visionary Awards were given to the following honorees:


· Visionary Actor: Navid Negahban (Iranian-American actor and regular on Showtime’s Homeland and Fox’s 24).
· Visionary Leader in Education: Marilyn Beker (senior screenwriting professor at Loyola Marymount University School of Film and Television and the author of The Screenwriter Activist: Writing Social Issue Movies and Screenwriting).


· Netherlands Film Fund. Acclaimed actor Rutger Hauer led the Netherlands delegation to the Shorts Awards and accepted the award on behalf of Film Funds. He is known for his roles in such major feature films including: Blade Runner, Lady Hawke, Batman Begins, Sin City and The Hitcher. He’s starred in over 5 short films and directed 3.
· EYE International. The Award was accepted by Marieke Oudejans (film and television producer from the Netherlands). Eye International is responsible for all of the marketing and promotion of Dutch films.
· UPC Netherlands. The Award was accepted by Lukas Kernell (Liberty Global’s VP of Programming). UPC Netherlands is the 2nd largest cable TV operator in the Netherlands.


· Lucy Walker for Outstanding Achievement in Social Impact Film (her films include feature documentaries The Crash Reel, Waste Land, Countdown to Zero, Blindsight, and Devil’s Playground. Her most notable short films are The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom and The Lion’s Mouth Opens.

The Shorts Awards also honored the following 2014 Oscar® Nominees in the Short Film categories of Live Action, Animation and Documentary:


Live Action Short Film Nominees

· “Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” -Director: Esteban Crespo, Spain/Spanish.

· “Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)” -Directors: Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras; France/French

·“Helium” -Directors Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson; Denmark/Danish

· “Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)” – Directors: Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari; Finland/Finnish

·“The Voorman Problem” -Directors: Mark Gill and Baldwin Li; UK/English


Animated Short Film Nominees

· “Feral” -Directors Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden; USA/Non-dialogue

· “Get a Horse!” -Directors: Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim; USA/English

· “Mr. Hublot” -Directors: Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares; Luxembourg/France/Non-dialogue

· “Possessions” -Director: Shuhei Morita; Japan/Non-dialogue

· “Room on the Broom” -Directors: Max Lang and Jan Lachauer, voices by Simon Pegg, Gillian Anderson, Rob Brydon; UK/English


Documentary Short Film Nominees

· “The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” -Directors: Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed; Canada/USA/UK–English

· “Karama Has No Walls” -Director: Sara Ishaq; UAE/UK/Yemen–Arabic

· “Facing Fear” -Director: Jason Cohen; USA/English

· “Cavedigger” -Director Jeffrey Karoff; USA/English

· “Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall” -Director: Edgar Barens; USA/English


ShortsTV CEO Carter Pilcher commented, “This evening’s Shorts Awards brought together the top filmmakers, visionaries and supporters of short films globally. It is an enormous honour to recognize these filmmakers who are succeeding in some of the most difficult storytelling in Hollywood. We are pleased to be able to recognize amazing Visionaries who go the extra mile to support and expand short filmmaking and are especially excited to recognize the work of The Netherlands and its institutions in support of short filmmaking.”

In 2010, to heighten the public’s awareness of short movies and the Oscar® nominees, ShortsTV™ launched the Shorts Awards in the run-up to the Oscars® in Los Angeles. In addition to honoring each of the 15 nominees, the organization bestowed the first “Lifetime Achievement Award in Short Film” on John Lasseter and three Visionary Awards to established filmmakers who have embraced short films, including Melissa Leo (who also won Best Supporting Actress), Kenneth Branagh and June Foray. Since then ShortsTV™ has bestowed honors on filmmaking greats such as Bill Plympton as Visionary Animator and Nick Parks for Lifetime Achievement. Last year’s honorees included Martin Freeman, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Nik Powell, Matthew Modine and Joan Gratz.

The Oscar® Nominated Shorts 2014 are currently being distributed by ShortsTV™ theatrically and via iTunes and Amazon, as well as on the cable industry’s Movies on Demand platform and on satellite VOD platforms.

For more information, visit http://theoscarshorts.shorts.tv/ or find us on Facebook: facebook.com/ShortsTV and Twitter: twitter.com/ShortsTV.

Media Contacts:

Jason Damata – Jason@fabricmedia.net / 917-279-8706

Marina Bailey
Marina Bailey Film Publicity
(+1) 323-650-3627

New York
John Murphy
Murphy PR

Select Your Region

Europe & Rest of the World


Latin America and the Caribbean

North America